Rema, Davido & Burna Boy Win Big at the 2023 Trace Awards

Rema, Davido & Burna Boy Win Big at the 2023 Trace Awards

Rema and Davido emerged as the top honorees at the prestigious 2023 Trace Awards, held in Kigali, Rwanda on Saturday, October 21. These awards represent a new and distinguished accolade franchise created by Trace, a renowned global TV and multimedia platform, with a primary mission to honor and spotlight exceptional African and Afro-influenced musicians across the African continent and beyond its diasporas.

Rema celebrated two significant victories at the ceremony. His chart-topping global sensation, “Calm Down,” secured the coveted “Song of the Year” award. Additionally, Rema shared the glory with Nomcebo by clinching the title of “Best Global African Artist.” Notably, Rema’s remix of “Calm Down” featuring Selena Gomez ascended to No. 3 on the Billboard Hot 100, signifying its global impact.

Davido, a leading figure in the Afro-music realm, also achieved a double triumph, earning the titles of “Best Male” and “Best Collaboration.” His collaboration on the electrifying track “Unavailable” with Musa Keys clinched the “Best Collaboration” honor.

Burna Boy’s exceptional album, “Love Damini,” was recognized as the “Album of the Year,” further reaffirming the artist’s prolific contribution to the world of music.

The grand event featured captivating performances by approximately 50 artists of African and Afro-inspired heritage from around the world, including Davido, Yemi Alade, Mr Eazi, and Diamond Platnumz.

Apart from the competitive categories listed, three additional honors were bestowed in categories without prior nominee announcements. The legendary 2Face was granted a “Lifetime Achievement Award,” Mr Eazi was recognized as a “Change Maker,” and the prestigious “Best Global African Artist” award was jointly presented to Rema and Nomcebo.

Below is the comprehensive list of winners and nominees from the 2023 Trace Awards:

Album of the Year

  1. DNK – Aya Nakamura (France)
  2. Love Damini – Burna Boy (Nigeria) – Winner
  3. Maverick – Kizz Daniel (Nigeria)
  4. More Love, Less Ego – Wizkid (Nigeria)
  5. Timeless – Davido (Nigeria)
  6. Work of Art – Asake (Nigeria)

Song of the Year

  1. “BKBN” – Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)
  2. “People” – Libianca (Cameroon)
  3. “Suavemente” – Soolking (France)
  4. “Encre” – Emma’a (Gabon)
  5. “Sugarcane” – Camidoh (Ghana)
  6. “Last Last” – Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  7. “Rush” – Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
  8. “Calm Down” – Rema (Nigeria) – Winner
  9. “Peru” – Fireboy DML (Nigeria) with Ed Sheeran (UK)
  10. “Sete” – K.O (South Africa)
  11. “Cough” – Kizz Daniel (Nigeria)
  12. “MORTEL 06” – Innoss’B (DRC)

Best Music Video

  1. “2 Sugar” – Wizkid (Nigeria) feat. Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
  2. “Baddie” – Yemi Alade (Nigeria) – Winner
  3. “Kpaflotage” – Suspect 95 (Ivory Coast)
  4. “Loaded” – Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) & Asake (Nigeria)
  5. “Ronda” – Blxckie (South Africa)
  6. “Tombolo” – Kalash (Martinique)
  7. “Yatapita” – Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)

Best Male

  1. Asake (Nigeria)
  2. Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  3. Davido (Nigeria) – Winner
  4. Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania)
  5. Didi B (Ivory Coast)
  6. K.O (South Africa)
  7. Rema (Nigeria)

Best Female

  1. Ayra Starr (Nigeria)
  2. Josey (Ivory Coast)
  3. Nadia Mukami (Kenya)
  4. Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde)
  5. Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)
  6. Viviane Chidid (Senegal) – Winner

Best Collaboration

  1. “Many Ways” – BNXN (Nigeria) with Wizkid (Nigeria)
  2. “Mine” – Show Dem Camp (Nigeria) with Oxlade (Nigeria)
  3. “Peru” – Fireboy DML (Nigeria) with Ed Sheeran (UK)
  4. “Second Sermon” – Black Sherif (Ghana) with Burna Boy (Nigeria)
  5. “Sete” – K.O (South Africa) with Young Stunna (South Africa), Blxckie (South Africa)
  6. “Stamina” – Tiwa Savage with Ayra Starr (Nigeria) & Young Jonn (Nigeria)
  7. “Trumpet” – Olamide (Nigeria) with Ckay (Nigeria)
  8. “Unavailable” – Davido (Nigeria) with Musa Keys (South Africa) – Winner

Best Newcomer

  1. Azawi (Uganda)

    Krys M (Cameroon)

    Libianca (Cameroon)

    Nissi (Nigeria)

    Odumodublvck (Nigeria)

    Pabi Cooper (South Africa)

    WINNER: Roseline Layo (Ivory Coast)

About Author

The Muse

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *